ACM People in the News

"Quantum Cryptanalysis: Hype and Reality"
Law Fare, February 16, 2022
Simson Garfinkel, USTPC Digital Governance Subcommittee Co-Chair, co-authored an article about quantum cryptanalysis, which he says is a threat, but one that is overhyped.

"Remote & Hybrid Work and the Shift from Speaking to Scribing"
InformationWeek, February 11, 2022
ACM Ubiquity Senior Editor and ACM-W Standing Committees Chair Bushra Anjum provides tips for IT professionals to develop and internalize writing skills in the changing world of remote and hybrid work environments.

"Tracy Camp Named Computing Research Association Executive Director"
Computing Research Association, December 17, 2021
Camp is an ACM Fellow and member of ACM-W, ACM’s Committee on Women in Computing.

"Chinese Computer Scientist Awarded Kyoto Prize for Work Playing 'Vital Role in Modern Society'"
South China Morning Post, November 10, 2021
Japan's Inamori Foundation named Chinese computer scientist and 2000 ACM A.M. Turing Award laureate Andrew Yao Chi-chih recipient of the international Kyoto Prize in advanced technology for "essential concepts and models that play a vital role in modern society."

"Computer PhD Student Selected for ACM-IEEE CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship"
Northeastern University, October 27, 2021
Tirthak Patel was selected as a recipient of the 2021 ACM-IEEE CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship for his contributions toward making current error-prone quantum computing systems more usable and helping HPC programmers solve computationally challenging problems.

"No Geniuses Here"
Los Angeles Review of Books, October 21, 2021
Edmund Berkeley, founder of ACM, included in new book, American Independent Inventors in an Era of Corporate R&D.

"Bard College Names Valerie Barr Margaret Hamilton Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Director of Bard Network Computing Initiative"
Bard College, September 30, 2021
Former Chair of ACM-W recognized as national leader in efforts to broaden participation in computing.

"Don Gotterbarn Receives David O’Leary Award"
IFIP News, September 28, 2021
Gotterbarn, former Chair of ACM's Committee on Professional Ethics, honored for promoting computer ethics.

"Interview with Sanmay Das, Chair, ACM’s Special Interest Group on AI"
Analytics India, September 20, 2021
Das has worked with the US Treasury department on machine learning approaches to credit risk analysis, and occasionally consults in the areas of technology and finance.

"Didem Unat Is 2021 ACM SIGHPC Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing Award Winner"
HPCwire, September 2, 2021
Unat honored for innovations in the field of programming models for data locality in high performance and scientific computing.

"The Test of Time at Internet Scale: Verisign's Danny McPherson Recognized with ACM SIGCOMM Award"
CircleID, August 27, 2021
ACM's Special Interest Group on Data Communications (SIGCOMM) 2021 conference awarded the Test of Time Paper Award to research published in 2010 in which researchers analyzed over 200 exabytes of data to map the Internet's internal structure.

"Balakrishnan Receives 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award from SIGCOMM"
MIT, August 26, 2021
ACM's Special Interest Group on Data Communication (SIGCOMM) has awarded its 2021 Lifetime Contribution Award to Massachusetts Institute of Technology scientist and ACM Fellow Hari Balakrishnan.

"What Separates AI from an Idiot Savant Is Common Sense: Hector Levesque"
Analytics India, July 30, 2021
“Without a commonsense understanding of the world, the AI systems, even the most advanced ones, will remain somewhat like idiot-savants,” says 2020 ACM-AAAI Allen Newell Award recipient Levesque.

"BSC Researcher Receives HPDC Achievement Award 2021"
HPC Wire, June 15, 2021
The International ACM Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing (HPDC) named Rosa M. Badia of Spain's Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC) recipient of the Achievement Award 2021.

"UC Berkeley professor Jennifer Chayes wins distinguished service award"
The Daily Californian, June 23, 2021

Media Coverage of Ayanna Howard, 2021-2022 ACM Athena Lecturer:
MIT Technology Review
Robotics 24/7
HPC Wire

"Jack Minker, Founding Chair of Computer Science, Human Rights Activist, Dies"
University of Maryland, April 12, 2021
ACM Fellow Minker, professor emeritus and founding chair of the Department of Computer Science at the University of Maryland, received the Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award and the ACM/AAAI Allen Newell Award.

"Dean Sam H. Noh named 2020 ACM Fellow"
EurekAlert!, March 15, 2021
Noh is the only scientist affiliated with a Korean university among the 95 professionals named to the 2020 cohort.

"Lu named editor-in-chief of ACM Transactions on Cyber-Physical Systems"
Washington University in St. Louis, March 2, 2021
From 2011-2017, Lu was Editor-in-Chief of ACM Transactions on Sensor Networks.

"Computer History Museum Honors Tech Legend Raj Reddy"
Carnegie Mellon University, February 18, 2021
ACM A.M. Turing Award recipient Raj Reddy of Carnegie Mellon University is one of the Computer History Museum's 2021 Fellow Award honorees.

"Shafi Goldwasser Wins L'Oréal-UNESCO Award"
MIT News, February 12, 2021
Shafi Goldwasser, the RSA Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and winner of the 2012 ACM A.M. Turing Award, has been named the laureate for North America in the 2021 L'Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science International Awards.

"Shenoy Named ACM SIGEnergy Founding Chair"
University of Massachusetts Amherst, January 27, 2021
"We envision SIGEnergy as an interdisciplinary forum for researchers and practitioners who use computational methods and technologies to help decarbonize our society," says UMass Amherst’s Prashant Shenoy of ACM’s new Special Interest Group on Energy Systems and Informatics.

"Edmund Melson Clarke, Creator of Model Checking, Dies at 75"
IEEE Spectrum, January 11, 2021
Clarke, E. Allen Emerson, and computer scientist Joseph Sifakis were named recipients of the 2007 ACM A.M. Turing Award for their role in developing model checking into a highly effective verification technology that has been widely adopted in the hardware and software industries.

"HPCwire People to Watch 2021"
HPCwire, January 2021
2021 ACM - IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award recipient Margaret Martonosi, 2020 ACM Fellow Alan Edelman listed along with 12 other tech leaders.